screen-shot-2014-11-24-at-10-10-09-amThe charkas are energy centers in the body, not located on a physical level but an energy level. They are a bridge between the soul body, and the physical body. There are known to be over 100’s of Chakras, but in most teachings the seven chakra system is the most widely used. From the charkas are hundreds of energy pathways that lead throughout the energy system and into the subtle bodies and levels in the auric field. The charkas affect us on an emotional, mental, spiritual and physical level. Here is a simple technique to balance your chakras.

Bija “Seed” Mantras

The Bija Seed Mantras are the essential sounds given for each chakra to energize it’s psychic center. When you begin to tone the seven chakras you will be aware of toning in each particular center, but you will also be aware of the sound that is resonating throughout your whole body. Every cell, every fiber is receiving the sound at the same time. This will be affecting you on the physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual levels.

Begin by finding a place that is quiet and sit comfortably. Close your eyes, and bring your attention to you navel, become aware of your breathing, Take some slow breathes in and out. Then begin with the first chakra (also known as the root charka), focusing your awareness on this chakra, and sending the sound down to this chakra, feeling the chakra area vibrate. Chanting three times into this chakra before moving to the 2nd chakra (sacral charka), and continuing up the chakras to the 7th charka (crown chakra).

The Bija “seed” Mantras may be chanted three or more times. They are written one way – but pronounced another:

For pronunciation, keep in mind that:

the “A” is pronounced as in “ah,”
the “M” is pronounced as “mng.”

1st   – Lam    (l-ah-mng)
2nd – Vam   (v-ah-mng)
3rd – Ram    (r-ah-mng)
4th – Yam    (y-ah-mng)
5th – Ham   (h-ah-mng)
6th – Om     (oh-mng)
7th – Aum   (ah-mng)